Many people are opting to buy second handed products instead of new ones. What are the reasons? Is it a positive or negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experiences.

It is true that many individuals prefer to purchase second-hand products instead of new ones. There are various reasons for this and I believe that such an approach is considered a positive change. I have given justification below. To begin with, buying a second-hand item is always cheaper compared to a new one. In other words, people have to spend less amount of money while they go for the used products. This is because of item condition is a bit older and has already used by someone. However, if it is reusable and not problematic then it is a wiser decision to buy in order to save money. Secondly, these items are available with a significant discount on online platforms with a proper warranty and are supported by reputed companies. Therefore, customers gain trust in such items and go for them without any hesitation. For instance, many families in India buy second-hand products from Amazon due to cost and the company's brand value. It is also noted that buying second-hand items is considered to be a positive development. As this will reduce the waste generation. As a result, the government is not required to manage waste handling which will help them to manage their resources and budget for other important things. In addition, if people buy used items, as a result, the overall market price of brand-new items and their consumption will also come down. For example, as per research conducted by the University of Gujarat in the year 2023, many families in India buy second-hand Sony TVs from Flipkart. Due to this, there has been a noticeable drop observed in the new brand Sony TV cost and the company has stopped importing TV units from other countries to save money. In conclusion, selecting a second-hand product is highly recommended due to its cost-effective option and it is widely accepted and considered a positive development because of lower waste generation and profitability.