A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that, with the advent of urbanization and rise in economic standards, people are now no longer influenced by moral values. Personally, I am strongly convinced with this view. In my opinion, many people around the world now associate wealth with social prestige. In this essay, I shall examine a number of studies to justify the presented viewpoint. To begin with, ever since the recent industrial revolution, television and mass media have played a crucial role in shaping our society. Media often portrait wealthy people as a significant role model, their assets and lifestyle are displayed as the symbol of luxury and success. Owning to this, a majority of the world’s population, is now convinced that, a person’s worth in society is now a measure of the owned assets. In order to achieve this fake sense of superiority, many people often buy products which are far above their affordable range. As a result, a majority of the world's population is overwhelmed by financial debts. For example, a recent study published by Oxford University illustrated that, people with financial restrictions and lower living standards, often feels isolated from their society and are more likely to experience mental distress. In addition, many people often commit serious criminal offence such as credit card fraud, corruption, in order to keep up with the high profile lifestyles. This is borne out by a study conducted by the University of Melbourne which demonstrated that, more than 50% of credit card frauds committed are the result of their need to keep up with higher social standards In conclusion, from the above stated reasoning, I am inclined to say that, people no longer value moral characteristic rather they are more fascinated by wealth.