Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

When they finish school, teenagers face the dilemma of whether to get a job or continue their education. Even though there are some benefits of working straight after school, I believe that going to college or university is the better option. There are several reasons why people believe that getting a job is the better choice. First, they could earn money on their own without their parents’ financial support. In this way, they can become independent, and they will be able to afford their own house or start a family. Second, people who choose to start their career early instead of going to university or college can have more opportunities to gain real experience and learn practical skills related to their chosen profession. Therefore, this may bring out a good chance of getting promoted to higher positions such as managers or executives. On the other hand, I believe that it is more beneficial for students to continue their studies. Firstly, academic qualifications are required in many professions. For example, it is impossible to become a doctor, teacher or lawyer without having the relevant degree. As a result, university graduates have access to more and better job opportunities, and they tend to earn higher salaries than those with fewer qualifications. Secondly, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young people who do not have qualifications from a university or college will not be able to compete. For the reasons mentioned above, it seems to me that students are more likely to be successful in their careers if they continue their studies beyond school level.