Universities and colleges are now offering qualifications through distance learning from the Internet rather than teachers in the classroom. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, we are dealing with Covid-19 pandemic, which is an infectious disease epidemic causing damage globally. Online learning is one of the temporary solutions to the consequences of this epidemic. However, this solution also has its benefits and limitations. Let us examine both views before reaching a concrete decision. Although many people still consider traditional schools as the best way to achieve knowledge, online learning proves to be a great alternative. First, it brings a wide range of online classes with flexible schedules to people who find it difficult to attend traditional classes on a regular basis. For example, if you are unable to attend the morning classes, you can choose to study in the afternoon or evening. Furthermore, e-learning is much cheaper. Learners can find out a huge amount of available materials with any device connected to the Internet. There is no need to move for classes, so you can save the travel expense. Last but not least, online learning can help you improve your self-study skill. Online learning means you are taught outside the classroom and without direct supervision. Thus, you have to be self-aware to study effectively. On the other hand, there are certainly shortcomings on online learning. To begin with, although learning is becoming quicker in the house, a student can easily be distracted. For instance, ưhile studying, students can turn off the camera and do other things like eating snacks, texting with friends or playing games that teachers can hardly control. Besides, online learning requires a good grasp of tech-skills. Since online classes are done completely through the computer, technological issues can occur that make it difficult to complete courses on time. All in all, I think that the advantages of distance learning far outweigh the disadvantages.