Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that whether a product can gain an extraordinary amount of profit to the manufacturers is highly reliant on widespread advertising. Some people hold a belief that consumers actually purchase unnecessary goods which could be a waste. In my opinion, I somehow agree that people sometimes make an irrelevant purchase, but the public also benefits of advertising. Firstly, ubiquitous advertising can make a massive impact on people who receive the information. According to psychological research, consumers are easily influenced by frequent external stimulation and eventually believe in what they see. If a person watches the same or similar advertising frequently, he will be more likely to spend money on the product without considering he needs or not. An obvious example, could be the smartphone. In general, when the latest iPhones are released, many people will queue for the most up-to date devices rather than keep using the old one, which is still working perfectly. However, undoubtedly, the quality of products is enhanced as a result of salesmen want to increase the volume of sales. The main reason why we are bombarded by advertising messages is because of their selling strategies. In order to survive in this competitive society, they have a tendency to produce a product that appears to be convenient for humans’ lives. A new car, for example, may have greatly improved safety features, or it may be more economical to run. Producers can use advertising as a medium to introduce their new design. It also conforms buyers’ needs when they are thinking about eliminating old cars. In conclusion, while I believe that people nowadays purchase something they do not really need occasionally because of advertising, I am also convinced that it offers us products with better quality.