Scientific research should be the responsibility of governments rather than commercial organizations. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, many people argue that the government should handle all of the scientific research, as opposed to giving it to the commercial organizations. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I shall examine and outline the relevant examples to support my view. To start with, there are numerous predominant reasons, which suggest that this will be a positive development. Firstly, privately owned organizations often mold or misrepresent the results and findings obtained from the scientific studies. This is done, in order to either hide the side effects of the product or to make their product look effective. For example, a recent study published at the Stanford University, showed that currently 25% of the beauty and health products in the market is either fake or ineffective. Thus, if the government take over the responsibility of these scientific studies, it could solve this issue. Furthermore, many times scientific research requires a large sum of funds to start, and in the absence of the financial support, these studies never complete. For example, a report presented at the Oxford University revealed, that 65% of the research labs and groups in the world, do not have any financial source to sponsor them. Due to this, essencial drugs such as vaccines or medicines, never reach the public. If this trend is implemented, we could expect to witness a notable movement in the positive direction. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. From the given arguments and examples, I am inclined to say that the positive aspects of this change surpass the negative points. In the future, it will be fruitful to review the reasoning stated above to realize improvement in this direction.