Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

It’s undeniable that community work is becoming increasingly popular among the younger generations nowadays. A portion of the population believes that non profit service for the local community should be made a compulsory part of high school education. This includes work like making the neighbourhood a better place or helping out charities. In my point of view I completely agree with this idea and in this essay I’m going to discuss why It could have a good impact towards the society. Firstly, I personally believe that if this idea is implemented it would truly make our society a better place, both locally and nationally. Everybody needs a helping hand, especially the social workers who are working in service of out communities. With many young and talented teenagers to help them, work is going to be done much faster and a lot of things previously thought impossible could be accomplished. For example, with the assistance of high school students, organizations would have enough manpower to distribute food to all homeless individuals in the local area. Even though it may affect the students’ grades who would be very busy, they could trade them with real life working experience. Speaking of working experience, I would like to introduce you to my second point, which is by doing these community work students can get valuable experiences they can’t get anywhere else. They would learn soft skills like time-management, plan-making, teamwork or even a personality trait such as empathy. I personally had worked in a charity event before called “cake for charity” as a logistics specialist. There, I made many new friends who shared the same passion with me as well as adopted many skills like bonding skill, computer using skill which would help me a lot in the future. Even though they would have to work without getting paid, students could gain much more than just money. In conclusion, making students do community work as part of their education is a genius concept. Not only they could make a difference in the society, they would earn a lot of very beneficial things for themselves too.