Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed?

It is a widely held view that the masses prefer to build their own business rather than working under an employer. This has become the latest trend for various advantageous reasons. On the other hand, there are numerous disadvantages as well. To begin with, people tend to do their own work because of two reasons. Firstly, they believe that while doing their own job, they have the chance to earn more as compared to working under any employer. Secondly, it is believed that they can enjoy the freedom of job since they are their own boss and they do not have to actively report to anyone on their job. For example, according to a survey in herald magazine, a person who owns a small store found to be more satisfied and prosper in comparison with the job holder, therefore it has become a fashion to develop a business whether it is small or large. On the contrary, there are some disadvantages which are linked to self employment. People who owns a business are in continuous mental tension of the finances of the work which can potentially affect their physical health. Also, the individual has to act vigilantly as there is also a high chance of betrayal from the employ who is working under him. For instance, there was a report on BBC that 60 percent of the small business holder are being robbed by their employer every year around the world. To recapitulate, while self employment can be the source of extreme profit for one person, on the other hand, it can be a disaster for another, but its pros outweigh its cons.