Some people think public library is necessary, however, others believe that the public library is useless. What is your opinion and provide with some relevant examples.

Recently there has been much interest in gaining a better understanding of the importance of public libraries in the contemporary world. Some people feel that the library is not worth anymore, however, I agree with those who are of the opinion that the library is a crucial part of many society members. In this essay, I will explain the rationale for both viewpoints as well as adduce all the arguments which might support my own belief. Those who espouse the former opinion claim that the libraries are a waste of public money. The proponents of this view maintain that all the materials such as books, magazines, and newspapers are available online and can be easily accessible via handheld gadgets. As a result, many of these library materials are just facilitated for the showcase purpose rather than someone using it and these costs an enormous amount of money. Maybe there is some truth in this claim, and some empirical evidence can be provided to support it. For instance, a 2007 study conducted by a team of researchers at the University of Toronto found that 80% of the libraries were closed in the USA because few people used to visit the library and the cost of running them was much higher than maintaining the public transportation. Nevertheless, one can argue that there is more to the story than this research tells. Personally, I firmly believe that public library in a town is a crucial place for many youth in the area. In other words, these students use this public service to focus on their studies because they get distracted at home due to technical devices namely TV, computer, and mobile phone. If these younger generation visit to library for their education, they will be restricted to use those technical equipments. Hence, they will be able to focus on their studies. My friend, Tina, is a shining example of this. She used to get lower marks in the exam because she used to study at home while other members of her family were watching TV shows. One day, she decided to start leveraging public library, and before she knew it, she improved her academic performance in many subjects. In conclusion, although library resources may cost the government to maintain, nonetheless, I still hold to the opinion that it is a valuable place for many adolescents to focus on their education.