Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Advertisement has been an integral part of marketing any product and promoting its unique features to boost its sales. However, many would argue that these flashy promotions compels the viewers in buying stuff which they do not require, while others say it educates the people regarding new products in the market and their benefits to the society. I my opinion, advertisement do spread awareness about new exciting technologies which have a positive impact on its users rather than making us buy useless things. The main objective of any advertisement campaign is to increase the sales and ultimately capture larger market share as possible. They run their programs in such a manner that exaggerates even the tiniest improvement to be a ground breaking innovation. This misleads the consumers into buying the product with no significant value added. For example, Mango Inc sells their new phones stating it has improved camera performance, whereas in reality the bump in camera performance in negligible and does not add any value over its older counterpart. On the other hand, certain advertising campaign does spread awareness about the new products and its benefits. For instance, the MyFit launched its Fit2 bands incorporated with a heat sensor which continuously monitors the heartbeat and alters medical emergency service in case of any fatal event. Such promotion educates the masses, about the product and its services, by enlisting the unique features which did not exist in the old models. In conclusion, advertisement enabling people to know about new product launches and the advantages of owning them, in my opinion by far outweighs the argument that such promotion leads to unwanted purchases. Although, they compel us to purchase goods which tends to be less useful, we cannot deny how much they educate us about new goods that might enhance our lifestyle.