Some people say that public libraries should be free, otherwise they are just a waste of money, especially because modern technologies and the internet allow easy access to resources.

People have different views in regard to the question of whether free libraries are needed in each town as the Internet is available for most people. In my view, while people have freer and cheaper ways to keep themselves informed, libraries are still necessary for a town. There are many arguments in favour of building free libraries. The first and the most important reason is, while the Internet has become an essential part of many people, there are still some people cannot access the Internet even today. They are, in general, the elder people or the homeless. For most of them, libraries, which are old-fashioned from the youngster's point of view, are the most important place for them to keep up with the world and learn new knowledge. In this sense, it is needed for the local council to reconsider the necessity of a free library, as one of their duty is to ensure every citizen has an equal right to learn. However, it is understandable why some people disagree with the library construction proposal. Apart from libraries, there are many other ways for those vulnerable people to acquire information and knowledge. For example, they can read newspapers, watch TV, and some of them are also free nowadays. Also, it is generally believed that learning is not the most crucial thing for those people, in comparison with establishing free libraries, the improvement of health care and the construction of other welfare infrastructures are obviously more necessary at the moment. And these measures also need a great deal of money and further financial aids. In conclusion, whereas there are many other things needed to give a priority for a town government, the keep the right of reading and learning is still important, and thus, building a free library should be given the same consideration.