Should Children be encouraged to be competitive in sports and other activities? Or is it better for them to learn the benefits of co-operating with other people? Discuss both these views and give your own answer.

Being competitive as well as cooperative is part of our life. Both play an essential role in our development since our childhood and the question that begs is whether it’s better to learn to be competitive or to collaborate with the others? It is unavoidable that competition takes part when we are children in many activities including exams where we need to excel in studies or in play games where we try to win an athletic event. Moreover, competition can open the doors to an open mind and bring out potential talent which means that the challenges could develop our competence. Obviously, all of this while remaining in a healthy mind. However, the negative aspect that rises in the championship is the pressure on kids to do their best and this causes unnecessary stress. While, well done, right competition can help teenagers learning skills they will use throughout their life such as searching a job. The society is like an ocean with sharks where we need to fight to make our place. On the other hand, it is good to encourage working together rather than against others. When we are kids, we learn to play together with friends as a team, especially in sports including football, basketball or volleyball. As a result, it will improve the quality of personal relationships, but also communication skills with other one. This last one will play an important role in the adult life, including a partnership or team building skills. To sum up, learning when it’s appropriate to become competitive and cooperative will be essential in the child’s education. But in an adult world we tend to be more regardless about having a good place in the society.