Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Zoos still remain as one of the entertainment options for people. Some assert that they are ruthless towards animals and should be shut down, while others think that they contribute to animal welfare. In my opinion, most of them dreadfully affect animals. On the one hand, even if I admit that zoos are atrocious and severe to animals, some of them still have benefits. Firstly, they provide animals with food and water supplies so that they do not need to hunt for each other and wander around in order to find water. For instance, when they are in habitat, predators can easily hurt and eat other endangered animals and as a result, they significantly reduce their number. Secondly, some wildlife parks are able to create all necessary conditions for animals’ reproduction. A case in point is zoos in China. Though pandas are threatened and their number has considerably decreased in the last century, zoo employees recently managed to increase their number. On the other hand, there are many persuasive arguments why zoos should be closed. The first reason to consider is workers' inferior attitude towards animals. Unfortunately, nowadays a lot of animals are punished and beat in order to be tamed. Zoo owners forget about their feelings, cubs, and the fact that they were not born to be caged. Another factor to review is rough and undesirable conditions. Most of the zoos from all over the world provide animals with poor circumstances, such as cages, space limitations, and the lack of habitat. Finally, while it is fun and educational for people, most of the animals feel inconvenient among people staring at them and taking their photographs. Consequently, animals can get furious and pounce on them. To conclude, all animals should be protected and provided with good conditions. As most of the zoos are cruel to animals and not similar enough to their natural habitat, they should be closed, albeit some of them have great and auspicious conditions.