Many employers are now offering their employees the option to work from home. As a result, employees will have much more flexible working hours in the future. Is this a positive or negative development?

These days, many employees are working from their home rather than from the office in order to have much more time for them. However, I believe that this trend has both positive and negative aspects. On the one hand, doing a job from home has many positive features in employees’ life. Firstly, most employees could save the money which they expense of commuting from home to office. Due to the fact that they live far from their workplace and have to commute daily which could make them spend a quarter of their salary. Hence, if they are working from their home, they will save such transport expenses. Secondly, such employees would have enough time for pursuing their hobbies. For instance, if they work from their office on a daily basis, they will not have enough time to do extra-curricular activities such as learning piano or guitar, painting, etc. Therefore, in my opinion, such positive features bring a positive trend in employees’ life. On the other hand, this development has many negative aspects. One of the negative features is there would be fewer chances for getting a promotion. As most of the employees would be working from their home, employers could not notice the effort of such employees, resulting in very few chances for their promotions. Another negative aspect is that missing office ambience and colleagues. For example, a survey conducted by the HR department of Infosys Company found that 85% of their employees who were working from their home were actually missing the atmosphere of the office and their colleagues who are working with them in the same department. Hence, I would argue that such drawbacks lead to negative development. In conclusion, I think that doing work from own house brings positive trend such as saving daily transport expenses and give quality time to hobbies, whereas, in my opinion, the negative developments are missing our office friends and the atmosphere of own office.