Some people think news has no connection to people's lives, so it is a waste of time to read the news in newspapers and watch television news programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the advent of information bombardment, more and more individuals read daily news as a hobby. Paradoxically, some people see no relation between news and people’s lives, hence suggesting news reading may be time-consuming. This essay will discuss why I totally disagree with this proposition in terms of educational perspective. To begin with, news provide a large quantity of common knowledge in various fields. Specifically, phenomenon of watching news programs will support you in forming comprehensive viewpoints about every day issues. Not only can you have your own stance when judging any occasions, but you also have more topics to discuss with friends in daily talks. For instance, reading, a wide range of news categories such as politics, economy, and entertainment will broaden your spectrum of knowledge. If you are specialized in any fields like medicine or science, medical and scientific news will intensify your knowledge accumulation. In addition, shaping good personal habit of reading the news will bring massive societal advantages. As a matter of fact, that a majority of citizens get updated about the latest news results in erudite population. In this case, the community will necessarily benefit from such kinds of people. For example, people usually update themselves by reading a plethora of modern topics, so as not to become an obsolete and decadent individual. But more fundamentally, newspaper and television programs usually break the news so as to make incidences known. Although some events may not be relevant to people’s lives, this occurrence properly hinders the chance of wrongdoings due to being condemned by society. To conclude, this essay provided numerous benefits of reading or watching the news involving knowledge gaining and social merits. In my opinion, I completely disagree with that proposition for becoming an erudite citizen.