In the last decade, there has been an increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. While welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other students see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Nowadays, adults are able to study online as a wide range of courses have been provided, but it has certain drawbacks too. This essay will examine the positive and negative of online lessons and provide a logical conclusion. The two main advantages of people taking courses on the internet are to have flexible time learning with affordable price. Firstly, people can obtain new knowledge 24/7 everyday in the condition of having the internet anywhere. For example, office workers are able to study after finishing their job on weekdays or learning on weekends, which helps them to improve personal abilities or learns new skills in order to be used at workforce. Another advantage of this is that many people can afford the price of the courses as there is no issues of renting classrooms and teachers do not need to pay agency fee for organizations. This, hence, brings the number of positive benefits to both sides. On the other hands, online study also has major disadvantages, such as no face to face interaction and physical damage. It is generally claimed that people cannot meet other students if they learn online. Also, studying online may cause myopia or the problems of the body movement. For instance, students have to stare long hours of time at the screen and this has an adverse impact on their eyes. What is more, the fact that people typically seat to use their computers so, in the long term of seating on the chair, may cause the difficulty of physical movements. In conclusion, while online lessons give people a chance to learn 24/7 at a much cheaper price, compared with classroom teaching, there are some drawbacks, like lack of physical interaction and the damage of the eyes and body movements. Therefore, online lessons have its pros and cons.