Some people say that art subjects such as music, drama and creative writing are an essential part of education, and every school should include them in its syllabus. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give your opinion and examples from your own experience

Many people believe that these extracurricular subjects should be added with other academic subjects to the syllabus. For the overall development of children, including subjects like music, art, drama and creative writing along with subjects like math and science is of utmost importance and I strongly agree with this opinion. Firstly, including non-academic subjects like music, art, creative writing in the syllabus helps the students enormously. Students who indulge in such courses develop a very creative and their imaginative thinking helps them with their academic performance. For instance, a student having artistic skills would find it easier to learn science and even solve mathematics problems. Secondly, these courses help to reduce the academic pressure on children. Undoubtedly, in todays world, children are constantly in a race to be better than their peers academically. In such a stressful situation, these subjects act as a buffer and break the monotony of academic subjects. Studies have proved that these activities give students some time to relax their mind. For instance, parents and schools have noticed that students who have taken up non- academic classes along with regular subjects, turn out to have a better focus, motivation and are much more enthusiastic while studying their academic subjects. Some students are gifted in their creative abilities, if such hidden talents are uncovered in schools, this would be encouraged to take up as a profession later on in life. For example, many creative professionals have mentioned during interviews that if they were never given an opportunity in their schools to express their skills it would have been difficult for them to find a profession merely based on academic subjects. Additionally, students are given a platform to nurture, improve and perfect their talents and hobbies. In conclusion, extra-classroom activities like music, art, creative writing help in reaping benefits of improving students thinking abilities. It also gives them a break from their strenuous routine and helps these young people’s minds to rejuvenate. Thus, I strongly feel that it should be mandatory for all schools to add these fun and light subjects to their routine timetables. Also encouraging these subjects could teach the students about their traditions and cultures.