Some people think secondary school students should study international news as one of their subjects. Other people say this is a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People have different views on the topic, which are being taught as part of academic studies. Some people believe that global events should be added as a subject in secondary school, I am of the opinion that this would be an additional burden. There are some benefits of studying international news in school. Firstly, many countries are deeply integrated with each other because of globalisation. This means that a major change in the economy of a country may impact the economy of other countries. Discussing global events, in a classroom, pupils may understand such changes in the economy by comparing it with the current scenario. Such discussion can also enhance their analytical skills. Secondly, it may be a stepping stone for some children who would choose an international journalism as their career, as they would be familiar with most of the basic knowledge discussed in the classroom. On the other hand, students are introduced with complex concepts in some subjects like Algebra and Geometry as they enter in a secondary class. Adding additional subject may be an extra burden on them, physically and mentally, as they have to carry more books and memorize more concepts. As a consequence, it may have a detrimental effect on their health. For instance, as per research conducted by the Cambridge University in the year 2018, children committing suicide due to academic pressure was increased by 18% as compared to the last year. Instead of adding more topics, teachers can motivate pupils to study or practice art which they are interested in. If they will invest more time on doing things they like, they may become a professional. In conclusion, although having more knowledge as a teenager is beneficial, I believe that with additional studies would only have negative consequence to them.