Many small, local shops are closing as they are unable to compete with large supermarkets in the area. How does this effect local communities? How could this situation be improved?

A lot of small businesses have been closing down because of their inability to compete with large shopping malls. Most people say they prefer a large shopping centre rather than a local shop. I believe that the biggest shopping malls can give convenient for local people and also the way to improve the local businesses. First of all, large shopping centre can give you a wide range of products and services to customers. Also, giving customers a reasonable price for all their goods because of the economies of scale. For example, canned food or snack which has a lower price than local shops. Moreover, big stores offer perks like occasional sales, sudden drops on certain items price, and shopping loyalty cards. Lastly, large stores offer shoppers almost all they would need, unlike small shops. For instance, the large shopping centre can do financially help the local government while the local shops can't. Secondly, the local government needs to put a cap on the prices of the fundamental products and control them strictly. This will make sure that supermarket chains cannot dictate the pricing and eventually helps local shops to sustain themselves. Also, small businesses can use e-commerce as a new way of shopping by letting the customers do online shopping, it’ll help people who cannot travel for a long distance and benefit the owner itself. To conclude, even though the large shops tend to benefit the community more than local shops and crush small shops to the point of bankruptcy, but small shops can improve the businesses by using a strategic plan be adapted to the current market trend and make it on par with the large supermarkets.