Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only people who earn a lot of money are successful. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. You should write at least 250 words.

Many people believe that success is defined primarily by the amount of wealth an individual has. I strongly disagree with this notion and opine that it is actually happiness which is the major driver of success. This essay will discuss firstly, why success is a state of mind and secondly, that material riches cannot absolutely define success. While money can be thought of as a sign of achievement, it can in no way serve as a true barometer of success. What is most important in life is to have some sort of a passion and if one is able to realize his or her passion, they are an accomplished person in their own right. For example, teaching is not considered to be a high paying profession, yet many people choose it because they enjoy nurturing young minds and want to play their part in developing society’s future. Hence, for them, money is not the motivating factor but it is the invaluable experience they get from teaching. A person who has amassed a great fortune may be viewed by the contemporary society as being successful, but the fact of the matter is that money can neither buy happiness nor health. For instance, a research study performed on some hundred millionaires showed that almost forty percent of the participants had high functioning depression. Even though these people had wealth, they were not necessarily content with their lives. To conclude, it must be reiterated that material possessions like large houses and exotic cars should not define a person’s success and that anyone who lives to realize their true passion should be considered equally accomplished.