Some people think that students in single-sex schools perform better academically. Others, however, believe that mixed schools provide children with better social skills for adult life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that school children should study in a single sex institution, whereas others opine that integrated schools are more beneficial for overall growth of students. However, in my opinion, both have their pros and cons. In this essay, I will examine both opinion and will provide logical conclusion. On one hand, it is better for students in single sex college as they have less distractions and they can focus on their academic career more effectively. In other words, due to no interaction of the other gender, mind is stable and thus the energy can fully be utilized in studies. For instance, in India today, it was found that students score better in single sex colleges. Moreover, there are no relationship issues, no emotional imbalance and they come out to be more real as there is no show off fashion. On the other hand, co-aid schools provide a variety of personality traits in children which helps them in future. They know how to work with the other gender and it helps them to socialize with people quite easily, while students studied in all boys/girls college are more likely to have anxiety when they work with the other gender, especially for boys. For example, in a study, it was found that about 68% of boys who graduated from all boys college become anxious when they work with female colleagues. Further, it helps build communication skills and create a sense of togetherness with the other gender. In conclusion, integrating the genders can prevent social awkwardness later in life and make pupils more sociable in the company of other genders, but a school’s primary purpose is to educate and those with just one sex or the other outperform those that allow both.