Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

With the increasing growth of technological advancements, some people argue that the main focus of study for university students should be on science and technology. However, others believe that learners should follow their passion and concentrate on their favourite subjects, rather than on those that are required in modern society. This essay will explore both viewpoints and provide my opinion at the end. To begin with, scientific and technological disciplines provide essential knowledge for successful jobs in the future. The reason for this is that modern devices and services need to be updated frequently, so those employees who possess innovative and creative skills are in high demand. For example, in Russia, in Moscow, IT graduates can easily find a job in their industry due to a variety of companies specialising in telecommunication and computing fields. Despite this, acquiring knowledge about topics individuals have passion for, holds more importance, as this can lead to better success in a future career. Students should follow their favourite learning areas to ensure their productive and content life after graduation. Consequently, passion will allow them to go beyond their limits, becoming more creative and skilful. Hence, enthusiasm and eagerness to improve are vital qualities for a successful organisation looking for passionate workers. For instance, many well-known musicians were noticed by famous producers, even during street performances. One of these artists is Ed Sheeran who played music every week on the main road of his home town before he signed a well-renowned music label. In conclusion, even though formal subjects, such as science and technology are always required on the job market, I truly believe that love and passion lead to the discovery of hidden talents. Moreover, a diverse range of subjects is necessary to support a well-rounded education, producing individuals with broad perspectives and critical thinking skills.