Young people are often influenced in their behaviors by others in the same age group. Some argue that peer pressure is important while others feel it has distinct disadvantages. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

It is extremely common for young people to undergo peer pressure that can affect their behaviors. The major issue is that in most cases, the influence is negative and for this reason, I personally believe that the drawbacks exceed the advantages. On the one hand, we are analysing a type of influence that can increase juvenile delinquency. In particular, one of the major issues that have been affecting big cities in recent years is the problem of baby gangs, which are groups of very young people who commit crimes and in which their peers are forced to act in the same way if they want to continue to be part of the group. Furthermore, apart from committing crimes, peer pressure can be the cause to start bad habits such as smoking, drinking and doing drugs. Indeed, many teenagers would not have started smoking or drinking if it were not for the influence of their friends. On the other hand, it is absolutely important for young people to build friendships because this is the moment in which they learn how to interact with others, in particular in such a delicate moment of their lives. It can increase a sense of belonging and it can encourage taking up sports or other school activities. To conclude, I believe that peer pressure can be the cause of the uprising trend of juvenile delinquency and it does increase bad behaviours among teenagers. For this reason, even if it is extremely important for teenagers to be supported by other people of their age, we can consider a foregone conclusion that the influence in most cases leads to bad behaviors.