Scientists say that in the future humanity will speak the same language. Do you think this is a positive or negative social development.

Learning languages is of paramount importance to the sustainable development of the international community. It is argued that one language will be used as an international language in the future. I contend that there are many merits of such a development. There is a common belief that the use of one language as a universal language may exert a negative impact on many countries. Many linguists claim that the universal language may predominate over some other languages, bringing minority languages to verge of dying out and threatening global language diversity. However, I believe that such a claim is an exaggeration. First, in reality, despite the role of English as a common language in most countries in the world, less common languages are preserved well at present. This can be seen in the case of the Irish language, which was spoken by as low as 5% of the population of Ireland in the latter half of the 20th century. This language is increasingly popular now in Ireland, as a result of the tireless efforts of the Irish government to promote the use of it in recent years. Another important point to add is that the popularity of one international language does not mean that other languages are being used less. An excellent example of this is that English is being spoken as the second language in many countries where the first languages are still dominant in everyday communication. I am of the opinion that the universality of one language is of great benefit to the development of the world. The primary reason is that under today’s context of globalisation and international integration, the use of one universal language promotes the mutual understanding between different groups of people who come from different geographical and cultural backgrounds. As a result, international trade may grow, and this benefits all nations that engage in this process. Another significant reason is that when language barriers are removed, all learners may have access to a wealth of knowledge written in other languages, and they may become future experts in a variety of areas. This may help every country to build a stronger intellectual workforce and become more successful in the long term. In conclusion, one may conclude that the belief that the use of one international language has an adverse effect is a fallacy. There are clear advantages of having a universal language, such as the growth of international trade and the development of a stronger intellectual workforce in every country.