Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

A modern technology has brought a big boom through the social media applications which are used by the majority of people to gather information about the national and international news, and to enhance their interactions with their families, friends and neighbours. In my view, the merits of the advancement in the different modes of communication are much more in numbers than demerits. On the one hand, a competitive world has made really challenging for the people to find a leisure time out of their professional and family commitments to meet their contacts and read newspapers. However, social media such as Facebook and WhatsApp have helped to interact with their families and friends irrespective of distance and time within a fraction of seconds rather than writing a letter and posting it. Secondly, the digital media gives the update on the current affairs, upcoming technologies, weather forecast, job vacancies, or any other major incident occurred in the any part of the world instantly rather than waiting for the newspaper in the next morning. Hence, the digitalisation has escalated the level of awareness among the people about their vicinity, and strengthen the interactive bond among the communities. On the other hand, the several fake news or misguiding information is showcased on the social media which can create a huge chaos and panic among the public. For instance, the personal lives of famous personalities are scrutinized with the unconfirmed news, and several are defamed with such unlawful acts. Moreover, there are lots of security issues resulting in stealing the personal details, hacking, malicious acts, and thus increasing the rate of cyber crimes. To recapitulate, I opine that social media is acting as a great source of spreading the news in the various categories of health, technology, sports, national and international fields, and additionally helping the people to build their relations and strengthen them.