In many developing countries, there is a problem with declining quality of air and water from both industry and construction. What measures could be taken to prevent this?

It is undeniable that developments of industrial estates and construction sites in several countries have environmental impacts on society, especially housing near those premises. Consequently, the quality of air and water tends to decrease. This essay will suggest policies that could be taken to solve those issues. First, the businesses must design and implement their water treatment systems which can effectively examine the quality of water before it is released from the premises. Additionally, there should be random checks by the authorised persons to ensure that wasted water doesn’t leak from the system. Second, the industry screening process should be considered during the construction approval request. To give a clear example, operation plans and the expected amount of greenhouse gas emissions should be submitted to the government so they can consider the appropriateness of the businesses and the environment nearby. For example, metal manufacturing releases polluted gas almost the whole day, so this is one of the industries which should not be located in the community area. Third, lawmakers should propose regulations which define penalties for those who don’t comply with the law. Also, there should be a specific team who is responsible for monitoring and auditing the businesses. For instance, if the factory releases unfiltered water into rivers, they will be subject to fines. To sum up, there are several ways to control the quality of water and air in risky areas such as industrial estates and construction sites. The mandatory water treatment systems, business screening and regulation sets are beneficial for environmental control.