Discipline is an ever increasing problem in modern schools. Some people think that discipline should be the responsibility of teachers, while others think that this is the role of parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Who should enforce discipline in young people? This debate has been on the increase in educational institutions. While some people think that this is part of the teacher's job description, others, myself included, are of the opinion that solely lies with the parents. This essay will discuss these two views. One reason some individuals believe that the mandate of instilling discipline in students lies with their instructors at the institute is because most children automatically revered their institute instructors. Most children spend quite a high percentage of their day in school and inevitably, they start to look up to their teachers, seeing them as models. The instructors are, therefore, in a vantage position to make positive changes in their lives. For example, a questionnaire filled by school pupils showed that they listen and carry out activities better when the instructor is their teacher than parents. However, other people, myself included, think that the responsibility of instilling good manners in youngsters lies with their parents because of the family structure. The family is the smallest unit of the society and the first point of contact with the child and the guardians can take advantage of this to instil these morals at a very young age. Moreover, the family is permanent, that is, it is constant; however, teachers change every season or yearly. Hence, it will be confusing for a child whose teacher is his/her sole discipline instructor but this person changes seasonally. For instance, In conclusion, some persons believe that the school should instill good morals in youngsters while others, including myself, think this responsibility lies with the parents. This essay analysed these two views.