Currently, more and more people respect elders and become convinced that old people should live with their families, which is in contrast to the view that old people should live at a nursing home. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, some face the dilemma of whether the old should be sent to nursing homes or not. While it is often said that these organizations can offer the best possible condition, I would argue that it is better for the elderly to be looked after by their family members. On the one hand, it is believed that senior citizens should be sent to nursing centres for some reasons. The first one is that since these centres are professional organizations, their staff are often well-trained and therefore have excellent elderly care skills. For example, elders are those who are highly vulnerable to such serious diseases as ischaemic heart or stroke, so staff can react in a quick manner and offer them first aid in case of their outbreak. Secondly, seniors can have a chance to make friends with their contemporaries while at such centres, which might help them avoid loneliness, having the potential to jeopardize an elder’s ability to live independently. If they spend most of their time with their family at home, they might cultivate a sense of solitude because of the gap between many generations. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that it is a better idea for family members to take responsibility of their old people. Firstly, since grandparents are those who spend an amount of their life caring for almost every member of the family, this is a chance for descendants show filial piety for what the elders have sacrificed. Secondly, it is a blood relation that exists in the family, so grandparents will undoubtedly be taken great care of by others who share a full bond in comparison to a senior care staff without any blood relationship. Furthermore, grandparents will play an irreplaceable role in transmitting to their grandchildren the values and norms of social order. Therefore, children are likely to understand how to communicate and behave in the appropriate manner when they become grownups, not to mention they will be more family-oriented and appreciate what they have been previously taught. In conclusion, although it is evident that there are some inevitable advantages of older adults being sent to nursing centres, I believe that they should be looked after by their own family for greater benefits. Only by doing so can the elderly gain affection for the rest of their life.