More and more families are choosing fast food over home cooked meal. What are the reasons and how they can be addressed?

These days, many people are preferring fast food instead of having home food. The reason behind this is that they are very easy to cook. However, in order to address this problem government has to take strict action by raising the tax. The main cause of eating more junk food instead of home -cooked food is that they are very simple to cook. Due to an era of technology, such foods are easily available in the market and can be cooked by following simple steps. As a result, many people who do not get time to cook food at home as they are working all the time in order to have a better standard of living or to fulfil their basic needs, they prefer such foods over home meals. For instance, in Mumbai, 85% of people who are working from morning to evening go on the market and purchase such junk foods because they are tired and do not have enough time to cook at home. Thus, such foods are more purchased instead of eating at the house. The possible solution to address this issue is that the government should increase the taxes on such companies who manufacture such junk foods. To elaborate, if the higher authorities increase tax heavily on these companies, a common person or the working class will not able to purchase such food because these companies would cover such taxes indirectly by charging for them. As a result, they will switch to home -cooked food. For example, the Government of Japan had increased the rate of tax from 10% to 25% on the fast- food manufacturers’ in order to make its citizen to eat home food rather than eating junk food outside, resulted in they are active, fit and fine. In conclusion, having a better life or fulfilling basic needs a person works all the time and choose to eat processed food instead of home food. Only when the government would raise the taxes on such manufacturers’ who manufacture such foods, will this problem be solved.