A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

It is often argued that these days, position and wealth are more important in determining a person's value rather than traditional ethics of honour, kindness, and trust. I completely agree with this statement because as mankind has evolved, so does the principles that we carry. Our traditional values shifted as technological advancement took place along with globalization. As a result, our original values, that we hold to a certain standard, become blurry because negative influences were entering our nation from every way possible, either technologically or culturally. Furthermore, These developments helped improve the world economy. A lot of countries that were undergoing recession experienced a dramatic upturn in their economies. Thus, the idea that money can buy us happiness was born because having money was a rarity during that time. People would also believe that if they were someone of importance, their wishes would instantaneously come true, which was essentially accurate. For instance, someone who works in the government around that time would have easier access to numerous necessities. In addition, social segregation becomes more apparent as the years go by. The distinct features of different social class are fairly visible. Consequently resulting in discrimination over those who don't belong in the same class. Individuals who belong in the higher social class hold themselves up to be superior than others. Such thing can be seen in our daily life, like how students with a wealthier background will go to private school, whereas those who are not so fortunate will go to a public one In conclusion, I agree that hitherto, our perspectives on the values that are important have definitely shifted for numerous reason. However, it doesn't mean that those values are necessarily the right ones to prioritize.