The government should control the Internet to reduce cyber-crime and ensure safety of users. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It has long been a subject of discussion on whether to minimize cybercrime and ensure the safety of the user, the government should control the internet or vice-versa. In my opinion, the former notion has several strong elements that deserve attention and I will explain why using pertinent arguments. My viewpoint has a myriad of arguments. The most perceptible with, lies in the fact, that the majority of fraudulent money transactions are completed online. Not only does it reveal some astonishing figures that prove that the online hackers would be able to steal data and documents from personal computers through the online platform, but it also encourages one to consider more details further down the track which gives transparent and logical reasoning to the people of today's world about the cybercrime. For example, it is possible to control your mobile camera without the user's permission through the internet. Self-evidently, all these facts stand people in good stead as far as their privacy and security are concerned. Another vital facet of the argument is that, based on some real-time facts and figures, 60% of child pornography were spread through insecure internet. Besides, a few perks, it is up to the authorities to further educate people and allow them to use firewall protection before using the insecure internet. Therefore, it is quite evident why many are in favour of my stance. From what has been discussed, one can conclude that the benefits of controlling internet usage are indeed too great to ignore. The best solution for this issue would be taken by the government to spread awareness about cybercrime among the people.