Many university students live with their families, while others live away from home because their universities are in different places. What are the advantages and disadvantages both situations.

While a number of university students opt to stay with their families when pursuing higher education, some choose to live far away. In this essay, I will analyse both the advantages and disadvantages of the two options. On the one hand, there are several benefits of living with families when going to local universities. One compelling point is that students can minimize their expenditure as rent, utility bills and renovations are no longer concerns. Consequently, students can set aside financial worries and focus solely on their studies and improve their performance. Nevertheless, staying with families also means that students have to face with strict supervision and a lot of bindings. Living in their parents’ house, undergraduates will have to live by the norms and rules that their parents set, which can be restricting and frustrating at times. On the other hand, living away from home for further education can be a lifetime experience for many students. In fact, living far away from home can teach students invaluable lessons that can assist them when joining in the future workforce. When living alone, they will have to take care of themselves as well as learn to tolerate and overcome difficult times, which will not only help harness their many skills but also provide them with a sense of freedom. However, living on their own means that students will have to shoulder a lot more duties and responsibilities without the support from their family, ranging from securing their academic result of balancing their budgets. Constantly experiencing such unpleasant situations can put students under great pressure, which may result in stress-related illnesses. In conclusion, students benefit in different ways when they live with their family and when they stay alone. Similarly, there are disadvantages in both the cases.