Due to the development and rapid expansion of supermarkets in some countries, many small, local business are unable to compete. Some people think that the closure of local business will bring about the death of local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that the closing of small scale business will cause the demise of local communities because of the increase in growth of supermarkets in many countries and the inability of local business to compete.In my opinion, I believe that ending local business will cause severe effects in the local area. Firstly, many people from local area cannot afford to buy goods from large markets. This is because of the increase in the price of the products when compared with goods sold in local areas.Owners of large stores, who wants to pay the rent from the income, they earn regularly in the form of high prices of goods. Consequently, many people avoid buying products which are sold with high prices in supermarkets. For instance, more than half of goods sold in London are priced higher than small shops in their country. Secondly, Large scale supermarkets are situated far from accessing region. In other words, huge markets are built in big cities, a large distance from towns and villages. This means that people from local communities has to travel long distance to buy small items for their daily needs. As a result, People consider to get products from neighbourhood shops, for their ease of access and instant availability. For example, In India, more than half of the people purchase products from small shops because of cost efficient and quick point of contact. In conclusion, closing of small business will bring about the end of local communities because of people from local community cannot afford to buy goods from large markets and shops are built far away from the access point.If local shops sell quality items, then there will be no need of large scale markets.