It is often said that the subjects taught in schools are too academic in orientation and that it would be more useful for children to learn about practical matters such as home management, work and interpersonal skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there is a positive trend of improving our life and education plays a vital role in this process. It is believed that the subjects taught in school are too academic and others think it would be more helpful for children to learn about practical training. On one hand, some people argue that academic teaching and practical training are both important educations for children. First of all, academic courses provide profound knowledge which allows students to get more detailed information on subjects. For example, A agronomy students get to know more plants science through academic teachings like plant diseases, plant genetics, fertilizer and just to name of few. Although they don’t go to the agricultural field, they know exactly about the disparity of plants. Hence, academic subjects are really useful for students to gain knowledge. Nevertheless, practical courses also play a significant role in education. Practical training provides a short time to study, which helps students to get a blue-collar worker job faster. Recently, there have been an increasing number of high school students who like to be studying practical training more than academic trainings in Vietnam. For example, students can be a waiter or waitress after a month studying hotel and restaurant management training. Therefore, students depend less on their family financially. However, academic and practical trainings, bring some disadvantages for those who are studying. First of all, learning in academic ways requires students to study for a long time. For instance, a law student must study 5 years before becoming a lawyer and medical students must take 6 years before working in a hospital. In addition, students follow practical subjects will not be ensured to acquire a high position in their career. In conclusion, form my point of view both academic courses and practical subjects are necessary for children. Votes