Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, there is an argument that whether the disappearance of particular species of plants or animals is our generation’s main environmental problem. This essay will cover both sides of this argument. In my perspective, I think there are more fundamental issues in our environment than the loss of a specific wildlife. Firstly, there are several concerns about the impact to our ecosystem when some species become extinct. One example reason for this is how the food web would respond to this drastic change in ecological aspects. Some even stated that the famine could occur because there is no such diversity to maintain the way we plant our crops or domesticate our livestocks. Although other assumptions which may be related to the mentioned one are not as extreme as this, it is gaining its ground in one of the public’s interests. Still, more evidence and studies will be needed to make us further understand the impact of the disappearance of a specific species. Secondly, there are lots of environmentalists who are saying that most of the current problems can be traced to other problems. One in particular is climate change. There are loads of reputable studies from across the world that can justify this argument. For instance, one study stated that, if the rise in atmospheric temperature reaches 2 degrees Celsius mark, there will be no point of return to stop the collapse of the world’s climate. This dramatic impact would wipe out half of the living things which live in the wild. Therefore, there are events in every part of the world that are dedicated to promote climate change awareness. Lastly, while the consequence of losing particular species of plants or animals is relevant, it is more acceptable that the impact of climate change is more significant and fundamental. I think that, if we succeeded in solving climate change, we would address the problem of losing diversity more easily. Hence, there are other environmental or ecological issues which are more important.