Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

It is thought by some that children should be provided the flexibility to choose the subjects they excel at, rather than making all of them mandatory. I completely disagree with this idea and I strongly believe that childhood education should include all courses as it gives them a general understanding and they can specialize in the field which they are good at later in their career. Firstly, children should be encouraged to learn all courses independent of the level of difficulty it has because it gives them a basic idea of all the aspects and help them to make better decision of the career they want to choose in the future. In addition, by exploring all the subjects at the beginning, they get to experience different methods of learning opportunities, namely, science fairs, writing research paper, attending an art gallery which results in thinking creatively and come up with innovative ideas to solve problems. Secondly, studying all subjects in childhood gives them the understanding of what they need in their day to day life. One example is studying Mathematics help them do the basic math they need in their life to understand expenses, counting time. Another illustration would be studying science helps them understand how the human body works. To conclude, academics should be structured to include all subjects for children, and they may not be required to achieve hundred out of hundred in everything they read, but they should be required to learn at a minimum as it helps them gain fundamental knowledge of what they need in their life.