It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subject. What are causes? And what will be effects on society?

In several parts of the world, there is currently a lack of students choosing to study science in universities and colleges. This essay will examine the causes and consequences of this phenomenon. The main reason behind the decrease in students in science subjects is learning science often requires hard work and considerable effort. Hence, these subjects are suitable for those who have a strong base and brilliant. In addition, most of the education is theoretical and leaves little room for enjoyment. Therefore, students who choose to study science are perceived as boring and somewhat crazy. Besides, it is known that the average wages of science jobs are mostly lower than in finance, business, and management jobs. Instead, they tend to choose other subjects which allow them to find jobs more such as finance, marketing, and so on. A shortage of scientists and technologists can be a very detrimental effect on society. The first impact is that the shortage of employees working in these fields. For instance, it would be difficult for humans to produce newer technology with better functions. Furthermore, since there are a huge number of students choosing to study business, finance, and management majors, this would result in a significant increase rate of unemployment in those job areas. The thousand of unemployed social workers every year are a good example of this. In conclusion, there are many reasons for students not taking up science subjects and this leads to significant impacts on society. Thus, each country should figure out solutions to encourage more students to dive into science subjects so that it could benefit the whole society and people’s well-being.