The restoration of old buildings in major cities in the world costs numerous government’s expenditure. This money should be used in new housing and road development. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the renovation of ancient and historical buildings costs the government a huge amount of money which can be used to build more houses and roads. While I think it is important to develop the cities, it is also important to conserve historical buildings. On one hand, historical buildings link the people to the past which is a vital part of the history and culture of the city. The perseverance of those buildings helps us better understand the cities which in return will enhance our belonging to the cities. Furthermore, many historical buildings are also tourist attractions which could draw hundreds of thousands of visitors. It will create more jobs and add fuel to the economy. However, there is no doubt that building more houses and roads is also important. Housing is always one of the basic demands of human beings while convenient transportation infrastructure is one of the essential parts of high quality of life and an efficient way to boost the economy. If the governments disregard the need for housing and roads, people living in the cities will suffer. In addition, if the roads are in poor condition, people will get stuck on the roads and become less efficient. In conclusion, while housing and road building are important to improve our quality of life and develop the economy, the restoration of old buildings helps to preserve our culture and history as well as boost the economy. The governments should invest in both old structures as well as housing and roads.