More and more young people from wealthy countries are spending a short time doing unpaid work such as teaching or building houses for communities in poorer countries. Why young people choose to do so? Who will benefit more: young people or the communities?

It is true that the number of youngsters who do voluntary work in developing countries is increasing recently. This essay will discuss about the reasons for this phenomenon and then address the question of that community or young people benefits more. The simple reason can be easily seen that the youth will gain valuable experience and improve practical skills. During the time in these countries, they not only could experience some facts of culture and behaviour, but also have the ability to adapt the changed environment and live by the way citizens do. The experiences added to CVs and make them easier to find jobs in the future. Moreover, being mature and broaden knowledge are necessary and worthy thanks to many desires and aspirations. Like some students, paying money to go there but do the unpaid job, just want to get more learnings and happiness to their lives. ‘It is clear that the communities usually receive more than giving, but youngsters still feel it too. Some poorer people need to be helped and have the chance to improve the quality of life so they are taught and encouraged to access the wish of becoming less difficult to meet their needs and know more ways to develop themselves. Besides, the youth definitely gets broader outlook thanks to life-changing challenge and that would make them mature, respect everything around them and live better since then. In conclusion, youngsters coming to do work in communities in less wealthy countries for free has their reasons and not only them, but the residents in there also benefit from this. Therefore, it is encouraged for the youth to do more in our society in order to gain a brighter future.