Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extend to you agree or disagree?

It is true that food security is one of the most important concerns for all nations. Some assert that countries should limit the importation of foods and try to supply all local needs internally. While such an ability can be beneficial, I believe that it would not be a good recipe for all nations. On the one hand, self-sufficient food supply has numerous merits for both the environment and citizens. Firstly, reducing requests for importing foodstuffs can lead to minimizing the transportation-rate, especially in flights and long sea voyages, which in turn will mitigate some green issues specifically global warming. Moreover, if a country can meet the food requirements of its population by itself, the citizens not only can enjoy local staples, which are mostly fresh and at first hand, but it is possible for them to buy these products at a lower price than foreign ones as there is no need to pay the extra cost for transportation and import tariff. However, providing all the local consumptions domestically depends on different factors such as population and geographical conditions. For example, a country with more than a hundred million people should have enough arable land in order to meet the residents' needs completely. In the case of geographical situations, for instance, in the middle east, growing some types of crops without using toxic chemical preservatives and consuming a huge amounts of water resources, which is considered as a global crisis, is almost impossible. That is why less or more cross-border trading for foods is always essential for many countries. In conclusion, in my opinion, although the capability of producing foods for the total internal demands has some advantages for the environment and citizens, population rate and also region restrictions are some factors that make the global trading necessary for some nations.