The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In this modern world, it is observed by some politicians and authorities that since the increasing of using internet tools, citizens have been preferring to use them rather than face to face communication. I believe that cutting-edge technologies are part of our life and it has affected us in a positive way. First of all, people have been struggling with a financial crisis since the 1990s. Due to that reason, they tend to do overtime and it caused people to meet with their friends and relatives less than before. However, thanks to social media, they could be able to contact them easily and cement their bonds of relationships. For instance, family members could communicate with each other via some applications such as Skype although they stay in overseas countries. Furthermore, humanity has been facing a different kind of viruses for a while and governments announce that citizens should not go out often and ensure that with some regulations such as temporary curfews. For example, to prevent spread of the virus, members of societies could prefer to use the applications. Besides the advantage of social media, it should not be forgotten that there are several disadvantages such as being a social and cultural corruption. Firstly, the human being is able to adapt to any situation. In other words, if using the tools increase dramatically, they might forget being social. It causes several health problems and especially anxiety. Secondly, culture is one of the key features for any community. For instance, the Mediterranean culture expects people to be involved in group activities and one to one interactions. If those peoples who live in these countries alter their habits, cultural corruption would be inevitable. In conclusion, in the light of the information given above, even if there are minor drawbacks which could be easily solved, I am convinced that the positive effects of the communication tools have solid and proven advantages, which are not only decreasing the rate of spreading of the viruses but also cementing the bond between family members.