Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagre

For decades, rendering services in the society without remuneration has been a part of high school curriculum. But recently there have been a lot of argument as to whether these selfless activities should become mandatory. In my opinion, I strongly agree that community services should be a must for every high school student because it is a good way of mobilizing them for action, and they could also fine purpose when they get involved. First of all, getting teenagers to carry out community based services is a hard nut to crack, as majority of them lack interest in it. So in other to get them to participate, it is very vital to make it an obligation to be carried out. A recent study showed that sixty percent of high school learners fail to participate in voluntary community services, hence it is essential to make it compulsory in other for them to achieve the task given. Secondly, when these young people serve their society in areas such as cleaning the environment, or training younger people in sport, they are likely to discover their hidden talents. For instance, a famous football coach once stated on national television that he developed the passion for teaching football while he was engaged in the community coaching during high school. There is no doubt that indulging in services such as these can help young children fine purpose and career path. To conclude, I believe that if community services are made compulsory, the benefits to the participants are enormous, and not only that, the society at large will stand to gain because young people will use their free time meaningfully and crime rate among teenagers will significantly fall.