Many people believe that countries should produce food for the whole population and import as little food as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that food should be produced for all people by the government and less amount should be imported if possible. In my opinion, I agree that countries can produce food themselves. However, there are some reasons that make it impossible such as geographical position and weather condition.For a start, government can prepare many necessary productions like food for their population as they quite have enough money. For instance, every year they dedicate specific money for this reason. By doing this, they can be able to deal with this issue. Besides, this would enable them to be more independent of other countries. As a result, every country is responsible for resolving people’s need. However, some countries have to import their essential food from foreign countries. For example, although Iran is blessed with a variety of fertile lands and has a wide range of products, it cannot produce many productions like wheat, rice and also some fruits. A number of reasons have been put forward for this, but by far the most important could be the location and climate condition. Some areas are too hot or cold, thus many productions cannot rise well, or others need special conditions example soil and height. Consequently, they have to purchase them from other countries. In conclusion, though every country should supply needful things for whole population, some reasons like their location and weather prevent them from producing their necessities independently.