More and more people want to own items, such as cars, clothing and other things, that are made by famous brands. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

These days, many people are buying branded things such as cars, clothes, mobile phones and other things. This is because the standard of living of people is improving and such branded things long last and are too comfortable. However, in my view, this trend is a negative development as buying branded things is a waste of money and many people buy for show-off their status. There are many reasons why most people these days want to purchase branded clothes, cars and phones. Firstly, the life of people is improving because of having a good job. As it is being observed, particularly, in metro cities, that the standard of living of the people is improving day by day by having a decent job, resulting in they prefer to have branded things rather than having cheap one. For instance, the majority of people in Mumbai are buying an iPhone mobile phone because it has a status symbol and known for its brand. Secondly, it is believed that these branded items are durable, so buying such items are enough worthy for the pocket. Lastly, most people buy such items owing to having the comfort after using it. However, keeping the aforementioned views, in my opinion, this is a negative trend for an individual as well as society. On the one hand, in terms of an individual, why this development is negative because buying such costly items is a waste of money. If the individual wants to buy a costly phone that cost $1,000 as it is branded, he or she can have the same phone with the same features at $500; due to this not only will this save their money, but also get the thing with same features. On the other hand, in terms of society, the reason why this is a negative development because having such branded things is showing-off status. It is true that many people in society are not wealthy, but buying or wearing branded things give them the status of the rich even though they are not in real life. These make me feel that it is a negative development. In conclusion, most people prefer having branded things instead of a cheap one is possible because of improvements in the standard of living. Nonetheless, in my thinking, this is a negative trend as it is not a proper utilization of money and show off to society.