Some people think that paying tax is their only duty, while others believe that we have more responsibilities towards our society. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

There are numerous income sources towards the development of a country; fine being one of them. While some people argue that by solely paying, they have fulfilled their communal responsibility; others disagree. They believe tax is just one, amongst the many other duties that citizens should bear. I personally agree with the latter view. Admittedly, many people believe, tax is responsible for a number of developments in any particular government. All residents pay their fair share towards a nation’s economy and educational growth. For instance, taxes are used to fund medical and technological researches, public infrastructure and new national security advancements. Thus, some people feel by paying their taxes they have done their part with/in regards to their community. On the other hand, others disagree. They emphasize, that we have multiple other responsibilities too, namely: cultural, social, industrial, environmental and behavioural growth, for the betterment of our nation. Firstly, by respecting the community’s social, cultural and behavioural norms we would contribute immensely towards a peaceful state. For example, if an individual abides by the state laws and doesn’t pursue criminal activities, the resultant society would be a secure and harmonious one. Moreover, if the inhabitants were to enrol in volunteer organizations such as shelters for homeless people and animals, then the spirit of unity and togetherness would be further accentuated in the society. Secondly, if business owners were to create more energy efficient, sustainable and low-polluting industries, using natural resources, they would not only create job opportunities, helping the government’s economy; but they would also contribute towards a cleaner environment. Furthermore, simple acts such as: picking up after ourselves in public is another great way to benefit our natural surroundings. In conclusion, I firmly believe, besides tax, we have far more other responsibilities towards our society. Simple acts performed by everyone, including volunteering, and respecting state’s laws, are all valuable contributions towards one’s homeland. Hence, Our country is like a small family and like every family, the duties don’t end with establishment of financial security.