Prison is the best punishment for criminals. Discuss.

Sending criminals to jail is considered the best approach to deal with crime. However, several steps need to be taken in order to improve the effectiveness of prison. In my opinion, although imprisonment is prevalent, it cannot be seen as the best method. Let's begin by looking at some disadvantages of prison. First of all, it could be remarkably costly to manage the prison. Governments have to invest a considerable amount of money and other resources to keep the prison running smoothly. Moreover, there might be cases of unexpected issues, such as escaping or disobedient criminals, which often require more attention from the authorities. Another drawback of prison is that after imprisonment, little people can start their life from scratch. Unfortunately, the society is often cruel to people who have made mistakes. For example, if somebody has criminal records in their CV, it would be difficult for them to receive any jobs from employers. As a consequence, they might commit a crime again because there are not any other choices. Turning to the other side of the argument, compare with other kinds of punishment, imprisonment has some advantages. To begin with, jailing a person is a way to avoid the death penalty. Therefore, prison can be seen as a method to prove the morality and goodness of the punishment. Moreover, generally speaking, the prison is a suitable place for people to think about their misbehaviours. For many, they have changed their viewpoints since they came out of prison. In conclusion, currently, imprisonment is the most prevalent method to punish criminals. Nevertheless, there are still some emerging problems that need to be solved. From my point of view, the authorities and society should have looked at these issues more carefully to bring out the best solution for punishment.