Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student’s performance. Continual assessment such as course work and projects is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is widely believed by some individuals that annual examinations in one academic term are the only significant way to check students’ knowledge. However, others assert just opposite to this notion, I vehemently agree that periodical assessment of assignments is an indispensable way to thorough understanding, and enhanced expertise of pupils in their studies. Indeed, although annual exams are considered as the productive way to check a scholar’s performance, regular checking of assignments and projects are helpful for critical evaluation of in-depth knowledge of learners. In order words, trainees can get constructive results about their tests while they are studying, which would be proven beneficial for them to focus more on their lacking areas in order to achieve their desired scores. In Canada, all colleges have been conducted monthly tests rather than the semester exams to access the extensive knowledge of students at a certain point of time, which not only help them to know their performance but also an inadequate interest toward those subjects. Thus, routine checking has proved as the proper way to review candidates’ researches. Moreover, continuing assessment has become an inevitable part of studies owing to increased level of education. Many students get benefitted in a final result due to the regular assessment of their practices. In fact, they can uplift their level of skills from beginner to advance by attaining proficiency with the help of either research or presentation. In the United Kingdom, a recent survey by ‘The Guardian’ shows that short assessment tests taken at some times help candidates to get better grades in their academics. Hence, providing course work of the college or university would be helpful for juniors to ascertain their strength. In conclusion, one time examinations at the end of the year are recognized as an efficient way to acknowledge students’ performance. Whereas, I believe, regular appraisal of projects has an even better option to determine apprentice’s abilities and skills.