In the past, most people used to travel to their place of work. With increased use of computers, the internet and smartphones, more and more people are starting to work from home. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

In recent years, advances in technology have helped many people switch their workplace to work from their own homes. While there are many benefits of working from home, there are many drawbacks to consider. On the one hand, one of the advantages of work from home is freedom. People, who work from their own houses, have flexible work hours. To illustrate this, they can have breaks as soon as they achieve their goals. Further, the most innovative advances in technology can help telecommuters increase their productivity rate and lessen the distraction in their apartments. In contrast, working in an office might become ineffective due to the limited work hours and distraction caused by side chatting among employees. Consequently, working from home can be more beneficial rather than traditional work. However, working from place can cause serious problems such as isolation. Telecommuters, who spend long hours doing their jobs without meeting human beings, can suffer from loneliness. For example, my uncle who runs a website from his own place and rarely goes out, feels lonely. Moreover, those who do their tasks from a flat find it difficult to separate their work from their home duties. For instance, they cannot avoid distraction which caused by their household matters such as cleaning, shopping, and childcare. As a result, work -at- home employees can be negatively affected by confusion in their houses. To conclude, although working from home has many positive aspects such as freedom and the high productivity rate, there are many negatives to consider like isolation and inability to separate work from home duties.