Nowadays, children spend too much time watching TV and playing computer games. Some people believe this has negative effects on children's mental abilities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most children are addicted to playing computer games and spending time on television at present. Some believe this has adverse effects on their conceptual abilities. I am of the view that this trend will have serious consequences for children if not controlled sooner. Children's cognitive abilities are improved based on both physical and intellectual capabilities. Firstly, spending too much time in isolation playing video games will create a child with no human empathy. This will impact their ability to interact with others making them fragile and arrogant. For example, research has proven that at child's mental ability will be improved when their social skills with others are in balance. Moreover, this will eventually decline the concentration of a child to study and result in degrading academic results. Obesity is the other outcome of this dilemma. In other words, lack of exercise will result in increasing amount of cholesterol levels which leads to unhealthy body fats. To begin with, it is found that four of every ten children in America are obese which has led to a detrimental impact on families. In addition to that, playing too much video games have resulted in losing visibility among children and degrading brain cells which they need to acquire knowledge at a young age. For instance, suicide rates among children in Canada have seen their highest over the last 5 years due to mental instability in, and scientists believe this has a direct correlation to the usage of video games. In conclusion, it is a fact that children nowadays have access to, too many video games and television and this has had damaging effects on their psychological abilities.