Topic: More people today prefer to live alone in comparison to the past. Do you think it is a positive or a negative development . Give your opinion and relevant examples to support your views.

Ever since the industrial revolution, the world has witnessed a significant change in the quality of life. Nowadays, a many children across the globe, now live separate from their parents. In my opinion, this ongoing trend is having a very detrimental impact on the society. In this essay, I shall examine a number of studies to justify the presented viewpoint. To begin with, as most of the people are now living apart from their families, a majority of them are suffering from depression and various other issues related to mental health. This is because of the stressful lifestyle and busy schedule, a many people are unable to spend some quality time with their loved ones, as a result, they often lack love, attention and support from their families and ends up feeling isolated and lonely. For instance, a recent study published by the Oxford University illustrated that the children who live separate from their parents are 75% more likely to suffer from mental distress then conjunction used in comparatives than those who live with their family. Therefore, it is clear that this direction is ameliorating our mental well being. In addition, owing to the popularity of this tendency, a many children around the world, who now live separately, are unable to take care of their old parents. Hence, a many old people depend upon the government for providing them the support and care they need. Due to this negligence, most of the older population is suffering from various chronic health issues. To conclude from the aforementioned arguments, I firmly believe that this ongoing movement is dramatically decreasing the quality of life, and from the reasoning stated above, it is safe to say that the negative aspects of this development surpass the positive points.